Pennsylvania has strict rules regarding an individual who is found convicted of driving under the influence. An individual could be facing additional charges if he or she has a high rate of blood alcohol or the highest rate of blood alcohol. In Pennsylvania, a high rate of blood alcohol means that the person’s blood alcohol concentration is a minimum of 0.10 but less than 0.16. The penalties are even stricter for the highest rate of blood alcohol in any situation in which the individual tests 0.16 or higher.
However, there are additional penalties and consequences for an individual whose reckless behavior and drinking under the influence has led to bodily injury for others or serious property damage connected with a high rate of blood alcohol. When property damage, vehicle damage or bodily injury have occurred as a result of a high rate of blood alcohol, the following penalties apply in the state of Pennsylvania:
- A first-time offender will be responsible for a fine between $500 and $5000. He or she must attend alcohol highway safety school, will be facing a prison term of at least 48 hours, and will have to comply with all alcohol and drug impairment requirements stated by the sentencing judge. Up to 150 hours of community service may also be ordered.
- A second-time offender will be looking at at least 30 days in prison and have to pay a fine, comply with all drug and alcohol requirements, attend alcohol safety school and may be responsible for up to 150 hours of community service.
- A third-time offender will be in prison for at least 90 days and could be facing a fine up to $10,000 in addition to the consequences listed above.
- For a fourth or subsequent violation in Pennsylvania, the offender will be in prison for at least one year, will have to pay a fine of up to $10,000 and will have to comply with all of the other requirements listed above.
Since it can be so serious to be accused of a DUI in the state of Pennsylvania in any situation, you need to consult with a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. It can be hard to remember all your rights at this time, so it’s best to schedule a consultation with an experienced DUI lawyer immediately to protect your rights going forward.